It’s Alive!

Sorry, no recipes tonight, but they will be coming I promise. I just want to share an observation with you dear readers.

As I have gained weight I have noticed that my preference is for slow steady walking wherever I go, and especially over the last 3 or 4 months a real lack of get up and go. Alarm goes off at 7am, I snooze it for at least 30 minutes when I used to get up as the alarm went off. Some of this I can attribute to my descent into depression that came to  ahead just before Christmas last year. But the rest just has to be the state of my health and my eating habits.

Today I realised that there is already a change happening  and that is in just a couple of weeks. I have a fairly sedentary job sat in front of a computer, another reaon for being unfit I suppose. Anyway, today I got up from my desk with the usual complaints from joints and muscles and started to hobble along, within 6 feet of my desk the pain was receding and I was walking quite well and steadily. Normally we are talking 20 feet of hobbling and a slow uncomfortable walk. And my mood is quite bright too. As for mornings, I am out of bed within 5 minutes of my alarm, all bright-eyed and bushy tailed.

Not 100% sure if this is dietary change, my walking or just an illusion but it feels good. I do know that the quantity of white bread I eat has more than halved and I am eating more fresh fruit and salad vegetables. Whatever is causing it then I want more, I now realise I missed this and want to keep it. I’m going to forge ahead and lose this weight.

Besides, I’m off to my first SF convention in 19 years in less than a month, it looks like an awesome weekend. Next year I want to take part fully in the cosplay that I don’t feel confident enough to do this year. If you want to know where I am going, and maybe come along too then go here. Tickets are still available for what is shaping up to be a fantastic event.

This entry was posted in Fitness, Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Alive!

  1. Isn’t it amazing what little changes to our lifestyles can do. Keep up the great work! So proud of you Emily Jane!

    Like

Comments are closed.