Recipe – Roasted Vegetable Pasta

Thursday night I was wondering what I could take to work for my lunch, it was getting late so I wanted something easy and tasty. Bread of course was out as I am trying to cut down my intake. Potatoes? Rice? Ahh pasta, but I really didn’t fancy my usual bolognese sauce, been having too much of that. Then it hit me, we had been planning to have roasted vegetables for dinner this week but hadn’t got round to it.

Ingredients:

  • Variety of vegetables cut into approx 5mm cubes (I chose Sweet potato, Butternut squash, peppers, red onion and cherry tomato)
  • Spray Oil
  • Salt and Black Pepper to taste
  • Chilli flakes (optional)
  • Dried Basil and Oregano
  • 400g tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 clove garlic (crushed)
  • Pasta Shapes

Method

Preheat oven to Gas Mark 7 /425°F/220°C.

  1. Cover baking sheet with greaseproof paper and spray with oil
  2. Spread vegetables on tray and sprinkle with salt, basil and a few chilli flakes
  3. Place in middle of hot oven and cook for about 30 minutes or until browned turning once.
  4. While vegetables are cooking bring a pan of salted water to the boil and add pasta, cook until soft and drain.
  5. In a pan place tomatoes, garlic, salt, pepper and herbs. Simmer stirring occasionally until it starts to thicken. Remove from heat.
  6. Mix roasted vegetable well with tomatoes.
  7. Stir into pasta and serve.

This really does taste good and the flavour and texture of the sauce is dependant on your choice of vegetables. Adding carrot will add a little ‘bite’ as it will not be quite as soft as the rest, fennel adds it’s own wonderful flavour to the mix, even cucumber adds a little something. Just play with it, it’s not easy to break.

And don’t worry if you overdo the quantity as I did, that is what the freezer is for, I now have 4 lunches for those days I feel lazy.

Happy cooking

Emily

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.