I’m Back!

Sorry friends, I’ve been lax of late and would like to apologise for the lack of blogs from me. Two weeks of the time had lots of running around and then I was back at the day job. I still, after all of these years of adult life, have to learn even the coarser points of time management.

I will be posting with some details of what I was up to during this missing time but for now I’ll just deal with last weekend and the Tuesday Weigh-in.

On Saturday I took part in an event organised by the company I work for. Called The Big E.on Run it was a set of activities in aid of The Teenage Cancer Trust, website here. There had been a choice of either a 10k run, 5k run or 5k family. No prizes for guessing which I chose! A few of us from the team I am in at work all did the 5k as a walk, my daughter E who has been banned from running until her foot has improved switched from the 10k to join me. And I’m so glad she did, having her along side me taking selfies and encouraging me made it so much easier to complete a distance that is about 1.5k longer than I have managed to do for about 5 years. We even managed to break into a run as we crossed the finish line. Our time? We did the distance in 1:17:57…joint last (we linked arms to make sure we crossed the line together). And to top it all we had the people I know from work cheering us across the line. For me this had been a great achievement and is proof to me that I can do this. Getting back some of my fitness and losing weight go together.

And it’s moment of truth time too. I don’t have my customary picture of my weight slip but on 21st April my weight was 24st 4lb, this is 1 lb up on the previous week and leaves me at 7lb down on my start weight. With all of the family events and the convention over the last couple of weeks I have taken my eye off the ball and am paying the price. My timetable isn’t changing though it is still to lose 50 lb by mid July, I’ll just have to improve my game.

To this end E suggested that we walk a 5k every month, a great idea as the companionship makes the walk easier. I’ll also be doing walks of various lengths several times each week and welcome anyone who fancies an amble in the local area and perhaps a little further afield. Don’t expect power walks or runs though, I’m really not anywhere near that level of fitness. If you are near to Bramcote in Nottinghamshire or perhaps a little further afield with some interesting places to walk near you please do get in touch. And to encourage me further and help a good cause please visit https://www.crowdrise.com/down50forc3/  and consider making a donation. Even $1 (that is 0.66p to my British readers) helps towards my target. And if when I get to $500 I am going to walk 10k along the Monsal Trail in the Peak District. This is along the bed of a disused railway through some really impressive countryside in one of Britains most spectacular National Parks. Take a look at the trail here. So come on and get me walking. I’ll be posting some of the best pictures I take along this walk and they will be available to buy after the walk with all proceeds going to the C3 Foundation.

Emily


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.